November 25, 2014


Louisville attorney named chair of Prichard Committee

LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Louisville attorney Franklin K. Jelsma has been elected chair of the Prichard Committee for Academic Excellence, a statewide citizens advocacy organization focused on improving Kentucky’s schools.

Jelsma is managing partner of Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs, vice chair of the Jefferson County Public Education Foundation, a board member of the Kentucky Chamber of Commerce and a member of the Louisville Rotary Club. A Princeton University graduate, he received his law degree from the University of Kentucky.

He was elected as chair during the Prichard Committee’s recent fall meeting to succeed Harvie Wilkinson, director of the MBA Center at the University of Kentucky’s Gatton College of Business and Economics.

Also elected as Prichard Committee officers were Helen Carroll as vice chair and Jean Dorton as secretary/treasurer.

Carroll, interim president of the United Way of Kentucky, is former community relations manager for Toyota Motor Engineering North America in Erlanger and a leading education advocate in the state’s business community.

Dorton, a Paintsville community leader, is a member of the board of the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress and the board of The Center for Rural Development. She was a founding member of the Eastern Kentucky Federated Republican Women, community and legislative liaison for the Big Sandy Community and Technical College and a member of the Kentucky Arts Council.


Share This