2022 Groundswell Summit

AVAILABLE RESOURCES

Poster Presenters

Student Voice
Hunter Combs and Tess Bryson
hunter.combs2@stu.knott.kyschools.us
tess.bryson@stu.harlanind.kyschools.us

Community-Wide Early Education Campaign
Ben Gies
ben@prichardcommittee.org

Family Friendly Certified Schools/Education Café cards
Brooke Gill
brooke.gill@prichardcommittee.org

The Groundswell Initiative
Suzetta Creech
screech@prichardcommittee.org

Building Connections for Student Success
Christine Holajter
Christine.Holajter@scott.kyschools.us

Language Preference Flag
Ana Jordan
ana.jordan@oldham.kyschools.us

Asynchronous Teacher Training for Family Engagement Best Practices
Berea Partners for Education
mckenzieg@berea.edu

Strong Business Practices in Family Child Care Lead to Better Outcomes for Children
Sandra Woodall/EC LEARN
swoodall@eclearn.org

What’s the Bright Idea: A Collaborative Model of Engagement, Equity, and Access
Theresa Cruz
tcruz@learning-grove.org

Schools that are Making Time and Moments to Be Proud with Families
Sue Christian

ParentCamp: Transformational Family Engagement
Julia Pile
julie@parentcamp.org

STEM Collaboration
Annette Hines and Angela Rowe
a.hines@moreheadstate.edu

Parents as Partners
Tina Arnold
tarnold@learning-grove.org

Community Mentorship
Melissa Gaddie
gaddiemelissa@gmail.com

Hooking Parent Engagement in Kindergarten
Julie Foster and Ken Simon
julie.foster@powell.kyschools.us

Equity Focused, Place-Based After School Enrichment
Rhonda Phillips
rhonda@thompsonscholars.org

Faculty Antiracism Group
Jim Davis
james.davis@warren.kyschools.us

Building Staff Capacity through Book Studies
Shelly Hammons
shelly.hammons@daviess.kyschools.us

Teacher leadership through action research and community building
Lauren Hill, Renee Boss, Natalie Croney and Kiara Gray
lauren.hill2@fayette.kyschools.us

Family Connections for families with differently abled children
Lydia Akin, April Mullins, Kerri Mays
akinl0831@gmail.com; lakin@kvc.org; ashley.hammon@berea.kyschools.us; april.mullinsdatko@commaction.org; kerriann068@gmail.com

A Village Approach: Activating & Engaging ALL in City-wide Early Literacy Solutions
Mary Kay Connolly
mkconnolly@covingtonky.gov

How to be a Bobcat: A Short Character Growth Story
Jonathan Neely
jonathan.neely@bell.kyschools.us

School Lockdown Drill Practices and Procedures: Advocating for a Child-Centered Approach
Leah Murphy
Leah.Lurye.Murphy@gmail.com

Empowering Student Voice
Amanda Thompson
amanda.thompson@jefferson.kyschools.us

District Wide Family Approach
Mandy Sagrecy
amanda.sagrecy@washington.kyschools.us

Wonderopolis® Explorer Program
Cindy Baumert, Cherry Boyles
cbaumert@familieslearning.org, cboyles@familieslearning.org

Ungrading and Student-Engaged Assessment
Carly Baldwin, Charlene Martin
carly.baldwin@boyd.kyschools.us

Family Literacy Projects – One Book, One School, One Family
Melanie Duckwall
melanie.duckwall@daviess.kyschools.us

Family Engagement
Ashli Dunn
ashli.dunn@fayette.kyschools.us

CIPL
Jacqueline Ceboci
tcruz@learning-grove.org

Celebration of Hispanic Families at the YMCA Camp Ernst
Maria Guzman, Ana Reid
tcruz@learning-grove.org

Listening to students and adapting teaching style based upon their video reflections.
Amanda Klare
amanda.klare@beechwood.kyschools.us

Session Speakers

Family Friendly Schools
Brooke Gill, Director, Prichard Committee
Cindy Baumert, NCFL
Tracy Teater, NCFL
Jana Beth Francis, Daviess County Schools
Shelley Hammons, Daviess County Schools
Kathy Burkhardt, Learning Grove
Health Dragan, Dayton Independent
Jay Brewer, Dayton Independent

Family Leadership in Education
Laura Beard, Prichard Committee
Becky Burgett, Gallatin County
Amy Carder, Kenton County
Julie Pile, Boone County

What kind of school do teachers want?
Amanda Thompson – JCPS
Christine Holajter – Scott County
Amanda Klare – Beechwood Ind.
Charlene Martin – Paintsville
Carly Baldwin – Boyd County
Andy Smith – FCPS
Jim Davis – Warren County
Ashleigh Glickly- JCPS
Natalie Croney – Warren County
Kiara Gray – JCPS
Renee Boss – Woodford County
Lauren Hill – FCPS

Students Speak: What makes a Great School?
Sue Christian
Hunter Combs
Tess Bryon
Ayriona Bledsoe
Melanie Ceboci

Supporting Each and Every Learner to Reach their Potential
Susan Douglas
Nancy Grayson
Tom Haggard
Delaney Stephens

Resources and Quick Links

Included in this Education Card Deck: Questions to promote discussion on education topics and family engagement in a café style setting. The set includes 4 box categories: Equity, Family Leadership, Families, & Schools. Each deck contains 50 cards.  Instructions for hosting an education café are included along with a virtual card deck QR code. Technical assistance and training is available.

To learn about training dates for Education Cafes-Contact Laura Beard laura.beard@prichardcommittee.org

Awards and Event Gallery

OUR PARTNERS